This morning I headed over to HMV and laid down some cash on three movies: The Life of Oharu, The Searchers, and Wings, which I’d never seen and wanted to familiarize myself with before getting into my paper on Ladies of the Mob. I watched it this afternoon and the restoration documentary just a few minutes ago. Amazing how well it holds up after 90 years. Some of its battlefield footage remains up there with the best ever shot. Oharu I picked up after reading a bunch of stuff about Mizoguchi in Bordwell’s essay. I’ve made up my mind to expand my filmic horizons while I have the chance to better contextualize everything.

Did some work at the Ryerson Library, including a blog post response to the previous week’s Cataloguing and Registration Methods readings, which I cited incorrectly and had to add a note saying so. Have to be careful there.

Samantha and I had a date night at Nando’s a few blocks away. It was our first time doing it up since London, and we took turns guzzling Peri-Peri and free Coke refills. Afterwards we tried grabbing Japanese cheesecake at Uncle Tetsu’s by the bus station, but the lineup was as bad as everyone says it is, so we gave up and had a treat at Marble Slab Creamery on Yonge instead. Not a shabby second option at all.

Hoping I sleep the night through tonight. I’ve been waking up in the middle of the night a lot lately. Last night I was up for about an hour and a half. I used the time to edit a paper and write a poem. But I’d rather have the sleep. Better have at it.

Leave a Reply

