Got up early this morning and worked through to class time. In Early Film and its Preservation, we talked a lot about Méliès and the problems with designating “original” films. We also did something I’ve never done in a class before: a shot-by-shot analysis of a film (Méliès’s A Trip to the Moon). We played the film, talked over it, paused it at moments we wanted to take a closer look at. I swear if I could find a way to do that kind of thing once a week for the rest of my life, I’d be happy. We also took a look at Méliès’s “Cinderella” and “The Kingdom of the Fairies,” the latter of which is especially gorgeous (the sets!). Laos talked a bit about internship plans and Marta brought up Deluxe, a company I’ve had my eye on.

I’m doing well in the class thus far, based on two returned summaries. After class I had my afternoon latte (I’ve started having those lately – I’m mostly made of coffee now, to be frank) and walked over to EJ Pratt Library to work. Picked up some dinner on the way home and watched some wrestling with Samantha.

Leave a Reply

